It has been a while since I started this blog. Close to two years, actually. And when I started this blog, I needed to focus on the theme–the goal. Because I was a recent college graduate, I felt inspired to share my new experiences. You know, those “adult” experiences that happened after finishing school?

Yet now I am a college graduate and a graduate student, so I have somehow ended up right back where I was before publishing The Graduate Adventures. Although many things have changed (I moved three times, I got engaged and will be married in two months, I found new career goals, and my family life has been radically shaken), one thing has primarily stayed the same.

Yes, I do have a lot of homework now, yet that hasn’t always been the case. And yes, I am still in love with the same man I was in college. However, we have both changed, and so has our relationship.

The one thing that has remained steady is God.

Crazy, right? When I first started this blog, I wanted a new focus. I wanted to avoid direct posts about my faith. After all, I previously posted to a daily blog (Living and Loving), and the majority of posts somehow incorporated this part of my life.

Despite the new focus, I can’t avoid this important topic. You see, my faith is my life.

Although I have hinted at it in previous posts, this is the post where I tell you who I am, and how I am who I am.

I believe in God. I believe in Jesus. I believe in the Trinity.

I have confidence in what is not seen, and I have knowledge of how my faith has influenced each moment of my life. No, I wasn’t always a firm believer. Although I grew up in a Catholic church, I never really understood the gospel or what Christianity was. And in all honesty, church was just not fun for a child.

Despite my confusion as to what faith was, I kept pursuing it. It was there–kind of. I prayed–sometimes. I talked about God–rarely. I even gave up things for Lent–every now and then.

And when I moved to college, my heart just felt empty. A lot of conflict was present on the home front, and I just felt sad. I felt confused. I felt like I needed something new. I felt like I needed something steady.

So I asked my mom to buy me a Bible, and she did. I packed it for my move to Chicago, and I signed up for three religious groups on campus at the freshman involvement fair.

I felt a craving for God, one that just hadn’t ever been filled. And in all honesty, I didn’t even realize that craving was just God asking me to come Home to Him. He placed incredible believers in my life who explained who God was, what grace was, and how much faith could change one’s life.

I even found myself crying in my dorm room one night when God had answered a prayer I never expected Him to. I cried because I knew in that moment that God had my back, and that He had all along. I cried because my heart finally felt not only full, but as though it had overflowed.

And ever since, I have made a relationship with Jesus a priority in my life. It’s not because I have to, and it’s not because I want things from God. It’s because I know that in order to be who I am, I must be pursuing God. After all, I am His Child.

I don’t know what you think about God or faith or religion or Jesus. I don’t know what you think about prayer or church.

I don’t know what you think about me.

However, when you think about me, I want you to think about who made me. I want you to know that He saves me–day in and day out, and He will save me when the end of my life is here too.

This coming Sunday is Easter, and it is a day where I can reflect even more on who I am, who Jesus is, and how miraculous and perfectly orchestrated it all is.

Who are you? What do you believe? And do you want to come along with me?

Life is crazy. We all know. However, we can live a crazy life pursuing a perfect God, and facing that reality, we can have confidence in all the craziness.

 

 

