Worth: defined as the value equivalent to that of an item.

Value: the regard that something is held to deserve; the importance or usefulness of something.


Knowing this, how is it that worth in today’s society is defined as such: one’s outward appearance, salary, digits on the scale, or number of likes on a social media post?

If value comes from the inside, if it represents the importance or usefulness of something, how is it that we have learned to judge worth through extrinsic features?

To me, a words girl, the definitions just don’t line up. Our culture has spread a huge misunderstanding to men and women, girls and boys. And it has spread like wild fire.


I admit that I struggle with comprehending my worth. I often fall for society’s definition and realize that I could be more “toned,” I could most definitely make more money, and I could live in a bigger house. My blog doesn’t get many likes, and I can now hardly run two miles when I have previously run a marathon.

My worth according to the world? Pretty dang low.

Yet, I am also taught that I am worth more than rubies (Proverbs 3:15). I am taught that my life is worth so much that God sent His only Son to die an innocent death so that I could have eternal life (John 3:16).

My worth according to my faith, to my God who reigns forever? Priceless.


Last week, I discussed this topic with my small group after hearing the Sunday sermon geared toward women about worth.

And both the men and women agreed that it is not easy to tell yourself you are worthy when society tells you that you are not. We live in this world, and no amount of faith will completely change the status quo. We are still surrounded by ads that tell us we need to shed more pounds, by women who wear nicer clothes, by homes that are more immaculate than our own. And why do we do it?

Why do we constantly strive for external change? Because we are constantly fed lies that we need to. We are told that if we get skinnier, richer, etc, we will be more worthy in this world.


I fall for it too. I assure you that after writing and sharing this post, I will still be tempted to meet the world’s standards of beauty. I will still struggle to understand how it is that I– a young woman with a part-time job that isn’t glamorous, a student who can hardly keep up with her school work, a fiance who makes mistakes, and a sibling and daughter who sometimes forgets to call–could possibly be worth more than rubies.

But I am. And you are too.

You can spend an entire lifetime chasing the “standard” this world creates, or you can accept that you are loved by a God who will love you more than any human ever will. You can accept that you don’t need to change one bit for Him to give you His whole heart because He already has–plus His Son.

You are worthy. I am worthy.

And maybe if we started to believe it, we would be able to live a life that showed others they are too.

 

