I know that Thanksgiving is when people gravitate toward a grateful thought process, and although I followed the trend and reflected on the things I have been blessed with, I also realized that I am thankful for the holiday itself.

This year my family visited Colorado, and I was perhaps most thankful for the people I was surrounded by–the opportunities to make memories with those I love so much.

Although changes have occurred within my family over the last few years, I am learning to love holidays for what they are, not what they used to be.

Rather than write a long post, I decided today’s blog would be a recap of the moments I was thankful for this past weekend.

1.  A walk through Red Rocks Park in the cold wind. This was my first chance to show my brother a little piece of Colorado.


2. A Thanksgiving Day meal with my family, and the first holiday I hosted with my fiancé.


3. Enjoying a poker game and Christmas swap in this cozy cabin; waking up to a work of art; and all sharing one bathroom 🙂

img_5780Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

4. Spending time with my two siblings together. I love these two beyond words, and I know that my parents gave me the best gift I could have ever asked for in these two best friends. Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

5. I haven’t been able to spend time with these two since they got married, and I felt so lucky to be able to get to know my brother-in-law even more. Plus, aren’t they so great together?img_5747img_5833

6. I have always been so thankful for my mother, but as I have gotten older, that appreciation has only grown. She has always gone above and beyond to visit me in all of the places I have lived, and she gets me better than most. I loved each moment with her, and I would do anything to repeat the hours I shared with her. 

img_1747

7. I am thankful for walking/running/hanging out on Green Mountain with my brother after eating donuts and worshipping at church. I showed him my secret spots, and it was so cool to share them with him.


8. And, of course, I am thankful for my fiance. I smile knowing how loving and caring he is. I am grateful for his support and kindness. I will forever cherish the below photo because I am being hugged by two people who will always love me unconditionally, who will try their best to understand my days, and who will keep the smile going. img_5847img_5837

Life is crazy. We can’t always predict days or weeks, but we can make an effort to be thankful. And with that mentality, we will be overwhelmed by the blessings God has given us.

Today, I am thankful for Thanksgiving…and for all of the people whom I love so much.

