I have tried my best to stay quiet about the election. I wait until the evening to unload all of my emotions and frustrations on my roommate and fiance. I scroll through Facebook and (for the first times in my life) have extreme desires to never open the page again.

I don’t want to say anything. I don’t want to write anything. And it’s because the world is so full of hate right now that no matter what I say or who I support, my words will be shoved back down my throat.

But as the disappointment in my friends and fellow Americans escalated, I turned to the one thing that never disappoints.

I turned to God, and in this process, I learned I was also meant to chime in.

Before writing any commentary, I must share the words that have opened my heart and broken it into so many pieces that I know God is the only answer.


“The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up one whole body. So it is with the body of Christ. Some of us are Jews, some of us are Gentiles, some are slaves, and some are free. But we have all been baptized into one body by one Spirit, and we all share the same Spirit.

Yes, the body has many different parts, not just one part. If the foot says, ‘I am not a part of the body because I am not a hand,’ that does not make it any less a part of the body. And if the ear says, ‘I am not part of the body because I am not an eye,’ would that make it any less a part of the body? If the whole body were an eye, how would you hear? Or if the whole body were an eye, how would you smell anything?

But our bodies have many parts, and God has put each part just where he wants it. How strange a body would be if it only had one part! Yes, there are many parts, but only one body. The eye can never say to the hand, ‘I don’t need you.” The head can’t say to the feet, ‘I don’t need you.’

In fact, some parts of the body that seem weakest and least important are actually the most necessary. And the parts we regard as less honorable are those we clothe with the greatest care. So we carefully protect those parts that should not be seen, while the more honorable parts do not require the special care. So God has put the body together such that extra honor and care are given to those parts that have less dignity. This makes harmony among the members, so that all the members care for each other. If one part suffers, all the parts suffer with it, and if one part is honored, all the parts are glad.”

1 Corinthians: 12-26


If I could translate the first verses into today’s world, I would say this: The human body has many parts, but many parts make up the whole body. So it is with the body of Christ. Some of us are Clinton supporters, some are Trump supporters, some are African American, some are members of the LGBTQ community, some are hopeless, and some are hopeful. But we have all been baptized into one body by the Spirit, and we all share the same Spirit.

I can’t help but see the body of Christ right now and feel pain in my heart. Our body is hurting itself, threatening itself, demoralizing itself, and even killing itself. Each part is fighting against the other, and there is no way that the body can complete its task.

As God’s children, as part of the body, we have a responsibility to love God before all else and to love our neighbors as much as ourselves.

Have you been loving your neighbors? And don’t forget: our neighbors are those that mock us, hurt us, and even vote for the person we opposed.  Are you loving them?

How are we to show Christ’s love in this world when our own hearts are filled with hate? How are we supposed to have full faith in God when instead we believe that the state of our lives is dependent on the man or woman elected president? How are we to live as one body when we tear the other parts apart?

“If one part suffers, all the parts suffer with it, and if one part is honored, all the parts are glad.”

I never fully comprehended this statement until now. You see, we are all suffering.

Clinton supporters are devastated. Trump supporters are afraid of Clinton supporters. And people are literally getting beat up. People are attacking each other on social media posts, and nearly every person is suffering.

God created us all to act as a different part of the body. We are not all Democrats. Nor are we all Republicans.

Yet we are all united into one body by the Spirit.

I believe it is time we learn to trust in the One who parted waters, the One who rose from the dead. I believe it is time we start loving our neighbors as ourselves. I believe it is time we learn to take care of the body.

Suffering isn’t working. Fighting and hating isn’t working.

We are ONE body, not two.

