IMG_9136

At the beginning of August, my fiancé and I attended one of his close friend’s weddings in Mammoth Lakes, California. This was most definitely a destination wedding, and although it was not the easiest location to access, it was most definitely worth the traveling.

For one: the wedding was absolutely beautiful. In the middle of a meadow surrounded by mountains, the ceremony took my breath away. The reception was also held in the same private spot, and nearly every aspect of the wedding could have been pinned on Pinterest and “saved” thousands of times. One word: wow.

It wasn’t only the wedding that made this trip one for the books, however. We drove from Las Vegas to Mammoth Lakes. This drive alone made the experience noteworthy. My fiancé and I pulled to the side of the road many times to take pictures, and after missing a turn and arriving without one available hotel room in the area, there was also an additional component of adventure.

With five hikes throughout the week and a shared condo with his old golf teammates and their significant others, it’s safe to say the vacation was also blog-worthy. You can expect some more posts in the near future, but for today, I will focus in on the drive.

Five hours.

…or six or seven.

I suppose it depends on if you stick to the directions and don’t stop to take pictures all along the way. But in all honesty, I am glad we missed that turn and there was no way we could drive past the views without pictures.

I 100% encourage you to make this drive at some point in your life, but if you can’t, it is my goal to let you see some of the spectacular views we did 🙂

We left Vegas at about 3:00 p.m. and arrived at Mammoth Lakes at 10:00 p.m. keep in mind we also gained an hour. This time range was actually perfect though. We were able to see the views in broad daylight, watched the sunset, and even gazed at the stars in the middle of the desert. We climbed from about 3,000 to 8,500 feet. And yes, our little (rented) Toyota Yaris even made it!

The drive was mostly desert. And although we crossed through roughly two towns on the way, we had reached the second at about 7:00 p.m.–just in time for the gas station and restaurant to already be closed.

For someone who needs frequent bathroom stops on long drives, the drive presented me with challenges. There had to have been a four-hour stretch without one bathroom in sight. Luckily, because we had missed our turn toward Bishop, CA, we passed through the Department of Agriculture checkpoint when entering California and I was able to beg to use the office’s restroom.

As much as I would love to express the beauty of the landscape in words, I have decided to use photos. We all know I took enough!

Here are my couple words of advice:

  1. Pack a camera.
  2. Do not drink a lot of water…or pack some toilet paper.
  3. Do not underestimate the “open range” signs. Yes, cows do walk right in the middle of the road.
  4. Drive through the evening. You won’t regret the sunset.
  5. Enjoy the views!

IMG_9189IMG_9187

IMG_9171

IMG_9235

IMG_9231

