I have never been a maid of honor before now; Nor have I ever been to a bachelorette party, so yes, my only understanding of this event was from what the media depicts. Vegas, strippers, and maybe not remembering the night.

When it hit me that as my sister’s maid of honor I would need to plan the bachelorette party, I literally had no idea where to start. I kept asking her what she had in mind, and eventually, she told me to contact her fiancé’s sister. We both decided that at that time my sister had a lot going on: a new job, moving houses (moving states!), and wedding preparations. Instead of deciding on a big extravaganza that required flights, hotels, and a lot of extra planning, we reached out to the bridesmaids and mothers to see if they preferred a day at the lake or a mani/pedi pampering day.

A day at the lake won.

Appetizers, drinks, and a day in the sun were exactly what we had planned. In fact, there were hardly any plans.

  1. Here’s the day.
  2. Here’s the time.
  3. Here’s what you can bring.
  4. Be there for the bride!

In order to add a little bit more “bachelorette/wedding” theme to the day, I went a little DIY.

IMG_7663

IMG_7713

IMG_7715
The plastic glasses were purchased at the dollar store, so they made this craft very affordable! They also had screw-off stems for easy storage. 

Each person had a personalized plastic wine glass (this way we didn’t need to worry about glass by the water), and my sister had a big souvenir “Bachelorette Party” glass as well.

Unfortunately a few of the girls were unable to make it, but we still had a day designated to the bride. If my sister had wanted the stereotypical bachelorette party, I would have failed horribly. However, she just wanted some time with her ladies and a relaxing day.

I had googled “bachelorette games” and although I scratched the idea when I saw most wouldn’t be feasible at a lake house, I was glad that I hadn’t added much structure to the day. Instead, we were able to go with the flow and do exactly what we wanted.

In the end, we were just a bunch of women hanging out in swimming suits enjoying the day. It may not have felt like a “bachelorette party” because it didn’t fit the typical description, but who says that’s what it needs to be?

If you are a bride and you don’t want that cookie-cutter Vegas weekend, don’t do it. If you are a maid of honor and you are afraid of planning something out of the ordinary because it won’t be like all of the other parties out there, who cares?

The only rule to follow is this: make the bride smile, make sure it is a day she wants. If you achieve this, that’s all that matters.

Bachelorette parties come in all shapes and sizes. I know that now.

IMG_7716

IMG_7720

IMG_7740

IMG_7658
It was also easy to make a DIY gift for the party. When my sister saw the wrapping, she asked, “Aww, what did you make?” She knows me too well! 🙂 
