Two nights ago I ran into someone I had met this summer in the suburbs, and he asked when I would be moving to North Carolina. This question caught me off guard. I was just adapting to suburban life–not thinking of my experiences in Asheville on a consistent basis–and then I was quickly brought back to the truth.

“I actually already moved down there,” I said. “But now I am back.”

This, my friends, is the truth. And I am learning a lot about acceptance.

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy teaches radical acceptance–the power to accept a radical event or truth in one’s life. I had been teaching this to the students in my past position, yet I am now learning to accept my life’s events as well.

Today I am starting a new job. This was never part of the plan. I was to move to Asheville, stay there thirteen months (at least), and then attend graduate school or start a job search. This wasn’t supposed to happen three months later, yet it is, and I am accepting it.

There are still moments that bring me back to North Carolina: talking to my friends there, hearing of stories that remind of the children I met, or the simple question the man asked Saturday night.

However, I am learning that I can accept new plans while keeping Asheville in my heart.

I am excited for today. I am looking forward to a new start, a new opportunity. I have radically accepted my life’s new direction.

Perhaps the fact that it is warmer in Chicago than Asheville has something to do with it 🙂

I encourage you to radically accept altered plans. Even if there is nothing you can do to change the current situation, accept it for what it is. Acceptance can change a sad, confused mind to an excited, confused mind. The answers may not emerge right away, but the emotional tide riding through your daily life is bound to improve. You may even feel like you have potential to surf through the hardships.

FullSizeRender

