IMG_1998Yesterday I went on a hike through the DuPont State Forest with a new friend. We were able to see three waterfalls, and as much as I could write about our actual adventure, I wanted to focus this post on what the waterfalls could represent.

I googled “quotes about waterfalls,” and one fit my experience over the last few weeks so well: “Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” -Confucius

Surprisingly, I didn’t have any literal falls recently. I can be pretty clumsy. However, I know that I experienced some other falls instead. My confidence fell, my hope fell, my trust fell, and my security fell. So many pieces of me fell hard to the ground, and I felt confused, hopeless, and unsafe. I wondered how I could move forward like this, and the answer scared me–I couldn’t.

I had two options. I could have stayed low to the ground and escaped my situation, or I could have risen and tried again. It wasn’t easy, but I chose to rise. I sought help, I met new people, I tried to find the positives in the negatives.

And yesterday, after looking at the beautiful, massive waterfall and feeling its mist fall onto my face, I realized I had risen. I had made it to the top. I made it up the rocks literally, but I also made it through the tough rocks I had been fighting along the ground all week. I may not be at the tip top yet, but I am working my way up.

I am taking one day at a time–one rock at a time. Each moment I fall, I have two decisions. I can stay at the bottom or I can rise. I hope to stay strong. I hope to gain those things back. I hope to keep moving forward, because when I do, I see beauty.

Beauty like this.

IMG_1995

 IMG_2003

