IMG_3678

It’s crazy to recognize that I not too long ago had my second adventure to my new home. I first visited Asheville in March for a job interview. This last trip was to explore the area more, and the next time I go there I will have a car load of boxes and a bittersweet feeling inside: I will be moving.

I won’t have to travel far to hike a mountain or to find a dessert shop. Both are pretty prevalent!

Although moving to another part of the country will be an adventure in itself, it has yet to happen. My mission now is to tell you about the time I had there in June.

IMG_0183

I went on my first two hikes, drove on many windy roads, walked through downtown, heard a lot of banjo music, and received a realistic job preview.

What does that term mean? Realistic job preview. I took a communications class my first quarter at DePaul and the professor taught us the importance of such a term. It means exactly what it says. Oftentimes people go through an interview and do not leave with an accurate depiction of the position they desire. The company asks questions of the candidate, but the candidate does not ask many questions of the company. Because I was aware of this fact, I tried hard to comprehend the job realistically during my interview in March. I listened for fifteen minutes about the challenges the position would hold, yet my mind didn’t fully understand those challenges until I went on a tour and actually saw them up close.

And this made me nervous.

I asked myself if I was ready for such a position, if I could handle the challenges that would come with the job, if I was a strong enough person. The answer? No. Probably not.

But I am still moving and taking the position.

The truth is I will probably never be completely ready for any job. I can always be more educated, more ready, more strong. Instead of allowing this truth to get the best of me, I thought hard about a text my friend from church sent me: “Challenges are a way to grow closer to Christ too. Let Him hold your troubles and burdens.”

God is the strongest. He is always ready. He has my back.

I will be just fine, and I will grow even closer to God in the process. Perhaps this plan is truly perfect.

Of course my time in Asheville included more than a 90 minute tour, but that hour and a half taught me more than I expected it to: even if I am not 100% ready, I don’t need to be.

God is with me, and He revealed that truth when I went on the tour, when I hiked those mountains, and when I heard the banjo tunes.

IMG_0242

IMG_3593

